A Christian Defense of Homosexuality


Well, sort of.

Lets be CLEAR: As a Christian, I DON’T endorse homosexuality.  I believe it to be WRONG and a perversion of what God intended intimacy to be between two people.  Now before you click away because you think I plopped a cognitively dissonant and provocative title to just solicit blog traffic, stay your mouse hand!  I admit I was going for shock value.  Heck, I’ll even go as far to say I was being purposely misleading.

This post is not a defense of homosexuality.  It’s a criticism of many Christians’ attitudes and behavior in regards to homosexuality, but the wording there doesn’t have the same ring or effect that the chosen title emits.  Again, I contend homosexuality as 100 percent sinful, but I feel many Christians hold it in such low esteem, they act as if it’s the deadliest of sins.

The Christian fact of the matter is that all sin is deadly.  As Paul succinctly puts it, “For the wages of sin is death.” (Romans 6:23). No matter how deplorable or slight, only one sin is enough to merit damnation.  Thinking impure thoughts occasionally and committing genocide with a grin ultimately leads to the same hellish place. This isn’t to say some sins aren’t worse than others.  Murder intuitively is more egregious than lying.  However, this truth doesn’t automatically put gay people on some especially dishonorable fast track to Hell as some Christian fundamentalists proclaim they are.  “It’s an abomination!” they yell, but so is every sin.

It’s a shame fundies are also so fixated on the Old Testament.  They are obsessed with the whole fire-and-brimstone, God’s wrath and the Pentateuchal Smite Report like it’s SportsCenter.  They love the bad news yet forget the Good News.  Via the grace achieved in Jesus’ death and resurrection, all sin is forgiven, including homosexuality.  I’m far from an expert on interpreting the Bible, but I think understanding it comprehensively seems preferable than having your head stuck in what I call the ass of the Old Testament.

Ellen Degeneres is an accomplished, gay and more than respectable and lovable comedian.

Fundies also seem to conveniently forget the notion of total depravity, which is the doctrine that all men are inherently sinful.  We are born imperfect.  We possess a proclivity for violence and hearts steeped in hate.  Jealousy, vengeance, lust are all a part of our trade.  Even the “righteous” Fred Phelps and the Westboro Baptist Church is susceptible.   Shocker.

Jesus famously pointed out “‘if any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone.'” (John 8:9).  Hence, no one has the moral high ground to cast rocks, judgment and whatnot.  Racking and stacking individuals as “good people” or “bad people” is useless and especially petty when compared to God’s perfection.  Whatever our hierarchy, our differences are ultimately negligible as God ranks at 100 and Mother Theresa boasts an impressive 7.6 X 10 ^ -54.

So what does this mean for Christians in practice?  We ought to treat gays as we would want to be treated.  They are still people.  We ought not discriminate against them based on one sin.  If we do, why don’t we apply the same stigma to other sexual sins?  Why don’t we as a society ostracize the men who habitually are unfaithful to their wives or all the couples who engage in premarital sex?  What makes those sins so less heinous?  Better yet, what about the liar, the gossiper or the drunk?  The truth is EVERYBODY has a vice that is ugly.

Gays ought not be defined solely through the lens of their sin either.  The fact Ellen Degeneres is a lesbian has nothing to do with her value as a comedian.  Honestly, I like her because she is witty and doesn’t resort to sexuality constantly in her comedy.  My opinion would not change either if she was heterosexual.  Her sexual orientation is irrelevant to whether the fact she is funny.

So seriously my fellow Christian brothers and sisters stop drinking the haterade,

Modus Pownens

6 thoughts on “A Christian Defense of Homosexuality

    1. I disagree entirely with your claim that homosexuality is wrong,

      Fair enough, but I don’t see how it’s possible to be consistent within Christian doctrine while declaring homosexuality morally permissible.

  1. Thanks for the link, Modus, but I was hoping to find out why exactly you view homosexuality as wrong, or why gays shouldn’t be allowed to marry (don’t know if you adhere to the latter, but there it is). Is your view purely predicated on Scripture? And, if so, how do you distinguish which passages to follow and which ones, if any, to admonish?

    1. Oh, Oscar, the answer is long and complicated. As you know as a philosophy major, it’s a long process to develop your views on a single topic. I’m doing research, and trying to inform myself so I can make the most enlightened decision on the issue I can. I’ll try to articulate my view in progress…

      Given my metaphysical leanings, I view homosexuality to be wrong because it strays from, to borrow from Aristotle, the ergon or function of masculinity. It violates the teleology embedded in creation for the responsibilities of reproduction and the upbringing of children. Hence, The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.” That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh. (Genesis 2:23-24) Also, “Be fruitful and multiply.” (Genesis 1:28). These two examples in the Genesis account show men and women, to be true to their natures, ought to be together and adhere to their final causes or ergons of reproduction. This is what it partly means to be masculine and feminine, and abide by this is to be good. Divine command doesn’t make this so. Creation does. Divine command i.e. Exodus, Numbers, Leviticus and Deuteronomy, helps illuminate, delineate and creates our obligation in this regard, but doesn’t make it good. The stoning and capital punishment prescribed here is not relevant to this conversation, but hermeneutically, it emphasizes the wages of sin are death, and I contend, cannot be understood without the New Testament.

      Similarly, I view the term gay marriage to be logically equivalent to a married bachelor. In principle, where procreation isn’t possible, marriage becomes irrelevant. The only reason the institution has existed in the first place was to regulate the social and moral responsibilities of propagating and raising a family. This is widely and historically recognized and practiced in non-Christian societies too. So to say a union between a man and a man or between women where procreation is, in principle, impossible is to say marriage can be understood separate from procreation, thereby destroying the necessity for the institution.

      But here is where things get hazy: Socially, our nation is a mess. Our liberal attitude towards sex has had some serious repercussions. We inappropriately treat sex way too lightly, and don’t recognize that we are meddling with the power to create life. When a woman gets pregnant and the father abandons the mother and the child, he again is straying from his ergon as a man and the inherent teleology in his nature in reproduction of the next generation. So this abdication of masculine duty, gives credence for the move for state-sanctioned infanticide, which isn’t good in my book. If the child is kept, the mother is forced to be alone in his or her upbringing, which is not how the family was supposed to be. Again, this hearkens back to Genesis. Although again not ideal, I do view a loving gay couple is superior and more conducive to the upbringing of a child than a single-parent raising a baby by his or most likely herself. Then again, we are socially failing at marriage; I think it’s upward arounds 50% of marriages divorce. We are not viewing what it means to start a family appropriately and not treating the institution nearly as sacred or important enough. So throwing a very radical and incoherent variable into the social and family equation aka legalizing “gay marriage” seems like the last thing we as a society should be doing as things are so tenuous and egregious already. I’m also on the fence about civil unions. Part of me thinks we can allow it. Another part of me feels it’s a misallocation of government resources to support a union that can’t bring forth the next generation even though it can raise it. I don’t know if a significant number of gay couples want to “start a family” or do they just want the tax breaks that consequently siphon resources that could be spent to support a single mother or a heterosexual couple, that more often than not, procreates and raises the next generation.

      As you can see, I’m ambivalent about the grayer areas. But clearly, I’m not homophobic in the sense I don’t possess a hatred fueled fear of gay people. I think I have some rational reasons to think marriage should be recognized and respected as between a man and a woman despite being influenced by my Christian metaphysical sympathies.

      I also feel when I’m dubbed a bigot, my First Amendment right is being stripped from me. My voice is being taken away from me via the taboo that bigots are associated with slavery, the KKK, etc. I can’t essentially state my beliefs in fear of being dubbed something that in this country culturally speaking is tantamount to being a pariah. I’m also misrepresented to the point where my views are distorted into an untenable and extreme position that is no where near what I hold. That’s why I’m up in arms about this whole ordeal as TheKindAvenue isn’t the only person who’s doing this. This notion is becoming prevalently accepted, and my demographic is being marginalized right before my eyes.

Leave a Reply

